Jump to content


Recognised around the world
Trinity College London's Integrated Skills in English (ISE) examinations and Graded Examinations in Spoken English (GESE) are recognised by higher education institutions around the world as evidence of English language proficiency for student admission.

Join the recognition list
Increase your profile by adding your institution to our list of institutions which accept ISE certificates: Join the list

Higher Education institutions which recognise ISE
UK institutions | Irish institutions

ISE and GESE exams are taken by hundreds of thousands of candidates worldwide each year and the number is growing in China, Hong Kong, India, UAE, Italy, Spain, Turkey, Mexico and South America.

Find an ISE or GESE centre near you:

Please see the ISE page and GESE page for complete exam information.

Trinity ISE - An English language test for the 21st century

Recently revised and updated, Trinity's ISE is a contemporary multi-skills qualification that evidences the effective English language communication skills that students need to compete in the 21st century. It also promotes the development of other transferable skills for study. Download the ISE Guide for Higher Education and Universities.


Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR)
The Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) is an international standard for describing language ability. It is used around the world to describe learners' language skills.

Download an ISE IELTS CEFR alignment chart.

Find out how Trinity qualifications map to CEFR proficiency levels A2, B1, B2, C1, C2 including research methodology.


UK Visas and Immigration
ISE and GESE are accepted by UK Visas and Immigration for the Spouse/Partner visa and for Tier 1, 2, and 4 immigration.  Read more.  


Trinity College London is a member of the Association of Language Testers in Europe (ALTE). In 2012 GESE and ISE were awarded the ALTE 'Q' Quality mark - evidence of meeting all 17 of ALTE’s stringent quality standards. 


EQF (European Qualifications Framework for Life Long Learning)
The EQF framework relates different countries' national qualifications systems and frameworks together around a common European reference.


In the UK, ISE and GESE are regulated by the Office of Qualifications and Examinations Regulation (Ofqual), and its respective partners in Wales and Northern Ireland.


The UK's University and Colleges Admissions Services (UCAS) does not specify acceptable levels of English language proficiency. Their guidance advises international applicants to check the language level requirements of individual universities before making an application.

Typical requirements for UK university degree programmes in the UK are ISE level II or above:

ISE II (B2 / Level 1)
ISE III (C1 / Level 2)
ISE IV (C2 / Level 3)


Back to top